2014 Wishlist

Things I want to get/have/be in 2014:

1. Mature.

I fully know maturity does not always come with age but it comes with experience. I want to be matured as I experienced many things and circumstances in life. I’ve made horrible decisions and mistakes in the past, so I hope starting from 2014, I can reflect upon those and chose the right thing. Not the ‘right now’, but ‘right on’.

2. Make peace with myself.

I admit I’ve been such a grumpy sulky shit in my whole life. Tend to see the black rather than rainbow ones. That shouldn’t be. Really shouldn’t. I want myself to be happy. Happy in terms of my heart, mind, and soul feels good, nice, and positive. With that comes the conclusion: I need to make peace with myself. To be in state where everything feels good –great if possible. To create sync within my heart, mind, soul, and body. Telling myself that everything bad shall pass and bask in the freshness of the rain rather than admit its coldness. Life needs balance. I’ve been in darker zones. I’m ready to paint this canvas with neon colors.

3. Stop being so victimized.

As much as I hate to admit it, I kind of fallen into this category: being a victim of the circumstances. You know, why everyone treated me differently, why it’s never ‘me’ and always ‘them’, why life is being unfair, etc. I am the architect of my own life. If it sucks, it is because I’ve designed it to be. So from now on, I’ll definitely create a better life and environment for myself. I won’t be the victim of anything and anyone. If they still put me in to victim position, I’ll turn the table and victimize themselves. Been there, done that, never again.

4. New job.

I just got my contract renewed for a year until next December. Truth be told, I love my job, but not the people and the environment. They’re nice in their own way and perspective. Nothing too bothering (except I’m a misanthrope myself so I hate everyone but that’s another thing). But I think it’s time to move on. I have to come out of my comfort zone and start a new chapter. I hope it could be done in 2014.

5. Start studying. Again.

Either no. 4 or this.

So just a quick intermezzo, I dropped my studies in language school on 2nd semester due to circumstances and money. Now that I’m older, it really hits me that I can’t be in the position or get the job I want with just high school diploma. I need to have better degree so I can pursue the career that I want. I still have the capacity to study, to learn, to earn such degree, so I will make it. I’m really interested in design lately (thanks to photoshop!) so maybe I’ll try to find some school of design, whether it’s graphic or web since I share the same passion for both. Or maybe back to literature again. The future is bright.

6. To travel.

It pains me that I’ve never been outside of this Java island even just for one night. This yearn to travel weighed me bit by bit and recently it started to feel like a void I can’t seem to fill. I wanted to travel across Indonesia then Asia. Or maybe just travel overseas to watch concert, doing tourist obligation then go back home. Starting to save up for that, surely. I have too many travel plans in my mind.

7. Camera.

Whether it’s SLR or prosumer, I need to have one. I began to develop interest towards photography lately. Though sometimes phone camera is okay, I still want to own real, proper camera. I’m not thinking anything pricey. Perhaps just Canon D1100/D500 or Nikon D3200 while slowly develop my skill. Yeah, I can go from that.

8. Fill my wardrobe staple with classic pieces.

Eversince I followed religiously on some fashion blogs, I have this infatuation over classic pieces. Be it in clean sleek cut white shirt or fitted classic little black dress. Realizing that I have not much of those in my closet, I really need to invest in some. Just some classic, bold pieces that I can wear over and over again no matter what year it is. Sounds perfect. Also, blame it on http://love-aesthetics.blogspot.com/ . I’m slightly obsessed over plain white outfits and clear stuffs nowadays (if I’m not obsessed by Ivania sobs ain’t she flawless?).

Author: Allison Nakamura

Tannya Aditya. Also known as Allison Nakamura of @DBSKCassIndo. Editor by weekdays, blogger on weekend. Quiescent misanthropist and sugoi motherfucker. 東方神起ファン. http://tohosync.flavors.me/

Comment?

